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Alabama Board of Funeral Service 
  State Law Study Guide Key 

 
Please be advised this study guide is NOT a representation of actual State Law Exam questions.  
This is only a guide for review and study of relative material in the Code of Alabama 1975, Title 
34 Chapter 13 & Administrative Code 395 which are subject to use on this exam.  It is the 
applicant’s responsibility to be prepared for all material subject to testing. The exam will 
consist of (50) multiple choice questions. 
 
Multiple Choice 
 
1.  After a citation has been issued, the licensee may: 

A. Pay the amount of the fine to the State Treasury 

B. Pay the amount of the fine to the Board 

C. Request an administrative hearing after 45 days of the citation being issued 
D. None of the above 

 
2.  The renewal fee for a practical embalmer is: 

A. $25.00 
B. $50.00 
C. $75.00 

D. $100.00 
 
3.  Which of the following general categories will not be found on an embalmer’s examination: 

A. Accounting 
B. Pathology 
C. Chemistry 
D. Anatomy 

 
4.  For how long must licensees retain continuing education certificates of completion: 

A.  1 year 
B.  2 years 

C. 3 years 
D.  4 years 

 





 

. 
5.  A funeral establishment performing cremation services shall obtain all necessary license and permits 

from: 
 A. Alabama Board of Funeral Service 
 B. Federal and State Departments of Health and Human Services 
 C.  Federal and State Environmental Protection Agency 

 D. All of the Above  
 
6.  Embalming records kept by establishment must include: 

A. Time of death 

B. Time of embalming 
C. Age of deceased 
D. All the above 

 
7.  Anyone who wishes the Board to consider a new rule, rule amendment, or repeal, should: 

A. make such request in writing 
B. make such request to the Governor 
C. make such request to the Chairman of the Board  
D. make such request at a quarterly Board meeting 
 

8.  Preparation Rooms must have containers or receptacles for: 
A.  clothing 
B. soiled linen 
C.  waste disposal 

D.  All of the above 
 

9.  Who has interim decision authority when the Board is not in session: 
A. Governor 
B. Board Chairman 
C. Associate Executive Secretary 

D. Executive Secretary 

 
10.  Certificates of completion must be awarded upon completion of all approved continuing education 

course and must include what information: 
  A. Course Location 
  B. Licensee’s name 
  C. Signature of sponsor 

  D. All of the Above 
 

11.  Funeral Law requires that each establishment shall have: 

A. one public restroom 
B. one handicap accessible restroom 
C. two public restrooms 
D. two handicap accessible restrooms 
 

 

 

 



 

 

12.  The fee for any retuned or uncollectable check in addition to the original amount of the check is: 

A.        $25.00 

B.        $30.00 
C.        $35.00 

D.        $40.00 

 

13.  The inspection penalty for a license issued under this chapter that is not current and not on public 
display:  

A.        $75.00 
B.        $100.00 
C.        $150.00 

D.       $200.00 
 

14.  What is the requirement for a Branch locations proximity to the centralized embalming facility: 
  A. within a 25 mile radius 

  B.  within a 25 miles radius and located in this state 
  C. within a 50 mile radius 
  D.  within a 50 mile radius and located in this state 
 
15.  The General Exterior of an establishment shall: 

A. Be free of litter and debris 
B. Be free of objects which could cause possible injury 
C. Have roofing well maintained to prevent any leaks to the interior 

D. All of the Above 
 
16.  The fee for a funeral establishment license transfer is: 

A. $15.00 

B. $25.00 
C. $50.00 
D. $100.00 
 

17.  The funeral establishment Change of Ownership fee is: 
A. $100.00 
B. $150.00 

C. $250.00 
D. $400.00 
 

18.  When a funeral director dies leaving a licensed funeral business with no licensed funeral director, the 

surviving spouse or surviving children of legal age may:  

A.  Hire a new licensed funeral director within three months 

B.  Have the board assign a licensed funeral director within three months 

C. Have the board issue a special operating permit to the operator of 

the establishment for 12 months  
D.  Hire a new licensed funeral director immediately. 

 
 
 



 

 
 
 

19.  The fee for a special operating permit is: 

A. $50.00 
B. $75.00 
C. $100.00 
D. $150.00 

 
20.  Under what conditions must a funeral establishment promptly surrender the custody of a dead     

human body to the person lawfully entitled to the custody? 
A. Funeral Home stated in deceased’s will 
B. At the request of the families minister 
C. At the request of the next of kin 

D. Express order and payment for services rendered 
 

Short Answers 
 
1. When do all licenses expire each year? 

  September 30 or October 1 
2. According to Alabama law (not the F.T.C. rule) how can a consumer expect to learn of the price of a      

casket? 

  Price Card in or on Casket 
3.  Cremation records maintained by funeral establishments which offers or performs cremations shall 

contain?  

  Name of the decedent 
  Date of death 
  Date and time of cremation 
  Signature of cremationist 
  Name of establishment for whom the cremation was performed 
  Copy of cremation authorization 
  Affidavit attesting to the cremation 
4.  Whenever it appears that no reason exists for the denial of an application who may issue a certificate 

of apprenticeship without submitting the application to the board? 

  The Executive Secretary 
5.  List at least one qualification that would make a person eligible to be a member of the Alabama Board 

of Funeral Service. 

 Be licensed as a funeral director or embalmer for 10 consecutive    
years 

   Be an operator of an establishment 
6.  Under what conditions can a funeral establishment or funeral director be subject to criminal or civil 

liability, or disciplinary action for carrying out the disposition of the remains in accordance with the 
instruction of a person who claims a right of disposition? 

  Negligence 
  Wantonness 
  Recklessness 



 

 

  Deliberate misconduct 
7.  Name the identification system approved by Board for the identification of dead human bodies? 

   Non-detachable ankle bracelets 
8.  A person desiring to be a licensed embalmer must complete a course of study at?  

 Accredited Mortuary or Funeral Service School or College  
9.  Cremated remains shall be shipped by? 

 A method that has an internal tracing system and that provided a 
receipt signed by the person accepting delivery 

10.  For the protection of the public health, safety and welfare, what sanitary conditions of funeral homes 
where the profession of embalming and funeral directing is carried out shall the board adopt and enforce 
rules and regulations? 

   Plumbing 

   Sewage 
   Disinfecting 
   Ventilation 
   Equipment 
11.  Name at least three individuals that are authorized for inspection purposes to enter an 

establishment. 

  Board Member 
  Executive Secretary 
  Associate Executive Secretary 
  Properly identified agent of the Board 
12.  Is a funeral establishment responsible to independently investigate the existence of any next of kin 

or relative of a decedent? 

  No 
13.  Inspection fees shall be submitted to the Board within how many days of the inspection: 

  45 days 
14.  How are Board membership districts derived?   

                        U.S. Congressional Districts 
 
15.  What is the amount of an annual inspection fee? 

  $75.00 
16.  How many affidavits must be submitted with each application for a funeral director or embalmer   

license?   

         2 
17.  Before a funeral establishment may open for business it must: 

   Pass an inspection of the premises by the Board 
  Obtain a current business license from the county or city 

municipality where the establishment if located 
18.  Who may the board delegate the responsibility of conducting or administering a license examination 

to? 

  Any qualified person or entity who is not a member of the board 

 



 

 

19.  An apprentice seeking a funeral director or embalmer license in the State of Alabama must complete 
an apprenticeship where? 

       In the State of Alabama 

20. What changes must a licensee report to the Board office? 

       Place of employment 
       Residence address 
       Any other change in status which is on record at the Board’s office 
 
True or False 
 

True False 1. Moral Turpitude is any unlawful sexual or violent act or any act involving theft, theft 

of services, or extortion, receiving stolen property, identity theft, forgery, fraud, 

tampering with record, bribery, perjury, or any similar act in any jurisdiction. 

True False 2. A Funeral Home can be held liable for refusing to accept remains or for completing 

arrangements for the final disposition of remains unless and until the funeral 

establishment receives an order from the judge of probate. 

True False 3.   Failure of a licensee to receive a copy of the rules and regulation of the Board shall 

not exempt or excuse him or her from the duty of compliance with the valid rules, 

regulations or orders lawfully issued. 

True False 4.   A licensed funeral director cannot legally assist in cosmetics or dressing the body    

unless he/she is licensed as an embalmer.   

True False 5. The Board shall not allow continuing education credit for courses where the principal 

purpose is to promote, sell, ore offer goods to funeral homes or crematories. 

True False 6. If a Board member is involved in an investigation or in deciding the necessity of a 

hearing, said ember shall not participate in hearing the merits of the case or the final 

decision process of the hearing.  

True False 7. The funeral director shall be responsible for ensuring that steps have been taken to 

remove pacemakers after delivering the human remains to the crematory. 

True False 8.   Buying of business by a licensee, his or her agents, assistants, or employees is ground 

for revocation, suspension, or refusal to issue or renew licenses; fines. 

True False 9.   An apprentice could face certificate suspension or revocation if his/her supervisor 

submits a complaint to the Board charging the apprentice of failing to follow the 

supervisor’s instructions. 

True False 10.  A practical embalmer is a person licensed under the provisions of the grandfather 

clause, who had practical experience practicing embalming at least two years prior 

to May 1, 1975. 

True False 11. A managing funeral director has full charge, control, and supervision of all activities 

involving funeral directing at a funeral establishment. 



 

 

True False 12. Upon the completion of a cremation cremated remains shall not be divided or 

separated without prior written consent of the authorizing agent. 

True False 13. A complaint against a licensee may be made by any individual except a Board 

member. 

True False 14. Alabama Funeral Service Law applies to cemeteries, medical colleges, mortuary 

schools, anatomical associations and funeral establishments. 

True False 15. The maximum time period for licensee to get reinstated after their license has 

expired is three months. 

True False 16.  A person is not required to serve the entire course of an apprenticeship if he/she 

has taken the national board examination. 

True False 17.  A mortuary service as define by Alabama Funeral Service Law can sell services and 

merchandise directly to the public. 

True False 18.  A person receiving licenses through reciprocity must take the laws and rules exam 

True False 19. The Board membership has provisions for an ex-officio member if such member 

becomes a member of the national board. 

True False 20.  Cemeteries are generally exempt from the state funeral service laws. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

  



 

 

 


