
Alabama Board of Funeral Service 
Application for Permanent License 

ABFS2020

Funeral Director and/or Embalmer License by Reciprocity Checklist 

All applicants for a funeral director and/or embalmers license by Reciprocity in the State of Alabama must have met all the 
following criteria. If the applicant cannot answer "Yes" to all the following the applicant is not eligible for licensure. 

Yes No Requirements 

Completed Application 

Over 18 years of age 

Good Moral Character 

U.S. Citizen 

High School Graduate or Equivalent 

Citizenship Documentation 

Licensing Fee ($250.00 per license) 

Certification of Licensure from state seeking licensure by Reciprocity from 

Graduate of an accredited mortuary school or college, or have completed a certificate program in Funeral Arts at an 

accredited Mortuary School or College, or (Bachelor Degree from an accredited College (Funeral Directors only))

Certified Transcript from Mortuary School or College (sent directly to the Board from the school or college) 

Certified passing scores on the National Board Arts and Science Exams (if applicable) (sent directly to the Board from  

The Conference) 

Certified passing scores on the State Board Exam(s) (if applicable) (sent directly to the Board from The Conference) 

Certified passing score on the Alabama Law Exam  

Completed background check application 

Background check fee (38.25 payable to ABFS)

Two complete sets of fingerprint cards 

Completed Background Disclosure  

*To constitute a passing score the applicant shall earn a score of at least 75.

**If the applicant has been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor, the applicant must have the certified records from the court in 

which the conviction occurred sent to the following address: 

Alabama Board of Funeral Service 
P O Box 309522 
Montgomery, AL 36130 




