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Embalmer Checklist 

All applicants for a Funeral Directors license in the State of Alabama must have met all the following criteria.  
If the applicant cannot answer "Yes" to all the following the applicant is not eligible for licensure. 

Yes 
 

No 
 

                                                                     Requirements 
     

      Completed Application 
     
      Over 18 years of age 
     
      Good Moral Character 
     
      U.S. Citizen 
     
      High School Graduate or Equivalent 
     
      Citizenship Documentation 
     
      Licensing Fee ($100.00) 
     
      Completed 24-month embalming apprenticeship within three consecutive years 
     
      Time since last apprentice certificate is less than 1 year. (If more than 1 year applicant must repeat apprenticeship) 
     
       Embalming case report (minimum 40 cases required and not less than two annual reports) (3 if required) 
     
      Graduate of an accredited mortuary school or college 
     
      Two affidavits from two different licensed embalmers 
     
      Certified Transcript from Mortuary School or College (sent directly to the Board from the school or college) 
     
      Certified passing scores on the National Board Arts and Science exams (if applicable) (sent directly to the Board from The Conference) 
     
      Certified passing scores on the State Board Embalmer Exam (if applicable) (sent directly to the Board from The Conference) 
     
      Certified passing score on the Alabama LRR 
     
      Completed background check application (Will be mailed separately to applicant) 
     

    Background check fee 
     

      Two complete sets of fingerprint cards (Will be mailed separately to applicant) 
     

    Completed Background Disclosure (Will be mailed separately to applicant) 

*To constitute a passing score the applicant shall earn a score of at least 75. 

**If the applicant has been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor, the applicant must have the certified records from the court in 

which the conviction occurred sent to the following address: 

 
Alabama Board of Funeral Service 
P O Box 309522 
Montgomery, AL 36130 
 
 




