Alabama Board of Funeral Service
Application for Permanent License

Funeral Director License Checklist
All applicants for a Funeral Directors license in the State of Alabama must have met all the following criteria.
If the applicant cannot answer "Yes" to all the following the applicant is not eligible for licensure.

Yes

‘ No ‘ ‘ Requirements

Completed Application

Over 18 years of age

Good Moral Character

U.S. Citizen

High School Graduate or Equivalent

Citizenship Documentation

Licensing Fee ($100.00)

Completed 24-month funeral directing apprenticeship within three consecutive years

Time since last apprentice certificate is less than 1 year. (If more than 1 year applicant must repeat apprenticeship)
Funeral Directing case report (minimum 40 cases required and not less than two annual reports) (3 if required)
Graduate of an accredited mortuary school or college

Two affidavits from two different licensed funeral directors

Certified Transcript from Mortuary School or College (sent directly to the Board from the school or college)
Certified passing scores on the National Board Arts and Science exams (if applicable) (sent directly to the Board from The Conference)

Certified passing scores on the State Board Funeral Directing Exam (if applicable) (sent directly to the Board from The
Conference)

Certified passing score on the Alabama Law Exam
Completed background check application (Will be mailed separately to applicant)

Background check fee

Two complete sets of fingerprint cards (Will be mailed separately to applicant)

Completed Background Disclosure (Will be mailed separately to applicant)
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*To constitute a passing score the applicant shall earn a score of at least 75.
**|f the applicant has been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor, the applicant must have the certified records from the court in
which the conviction occurred sent to the following address:

Alabama Board of Funeral Service
P O Box 309522
Montgomery, AL 36130





